Atlantic Canada’s MPs Vote (16 to 10) For Transgender Rights!

Posted by Wayves volunteer Hugo Dann, March 21, 2013

The House of Commons votes by a narrow margin (12 votes) in favor of gender identity Bill C-279.

Wayves is pleased to report that MPs from all four Atlantic provinces voted across party lines in favour of Bill C-279, adding Gender Identity protections to Canada's Human Rights Act and Criminal Code. The Bill now goes to The Senate for ratification. The text below is drawn from Hansard.

Pursuant to Standing Order 98(4), Mr. Garrison (Esquimalt—Juan de Fuca), seconded by Mr. Stewart (Burnaby—Douglas), moved, — That the Bill be now read a third time and do pass.

Conformément à l'article 98(4) du Règlement, M. Garrison (Esquimalt—Juan de Fuca), appuyé par M. Stewart (Burnaby—Douglas), propose, — Que le projet de loi soit maintenant lu une troisième fois et adopté.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following division:

La motion, mise aux voix, est agréée par le vote suivant :

YEAS (For) -- POUR: 149; Atlantic MPs: 16

Newfoundland and Labrador

  • Hon. Gerry Byrne (Lib) Humber-St. Barbe-Baie
  • Verte Ryan Cleary (NDP), St. John’s South-Mount Pearl
  • Jack Harris (NDP) St. John's East
  • Judy Foote (Lib) Random-Burin-St.George’s
  • Scott Simms (Lib) Bonavista—Gander—Grand Falls—Windsor

New Brunswick

  • Hon. Dominic LeBlanc (Lib) Beauséjour

Nova Scotia 

  • Hon. Scott Brison (Lib.) Kings-Hants
  • Robert Chisholm (NDP) Dartmouth-Cole Harbour
  • Rodger Cuzner (Lib) Cape Breton-Canso
  • Hon. Mark Eyking (Lib) Sydney-Victoria
  • Gerald Keddy (Con) South Shore—St. Margaret's
  • Megan Leslie (NDP) Halifax
  • Hon. Geoff Regan (Lib) Halifax West 
  • Halifax West Peter Stoffer (NDP) Sackville-Eastern Shore

Prince Edward Island

  • Sean Casey (Lib), Charllottetown
  • Hon. Wayne Easter (Lib) Malpeque

NAYS (Against) -- CONTRE: 137/Atlantic MPs: 10

Newfoundland and Labrador

(Ed's Note: No MPs from Newfoundland and Labrador voted against C-279!)

New Brunswick

  • Mike Allen (Con) Tobique—Mactaquac
  • Hon. Keith Ashfield (Con) Fredericton
  • Robert Goguen (Con) Moncton-Riverview-Dieppe
  • Rob Moore (Con) Fundy Royal
  • Tilly O'Neill Gordon (Con) Miramichi
  • Rodney Weston (Con) Saint John
  • John Williamson (Con) New Brunswick South East

Nova Scotia

  • Scott Armstrong (Con) Cumberland-Colchester-Musqadoboit Valley
  • Hon. Peter Gordon MacKay (Con) Central Nova

Prince Edward Island

  • Hon. Gail Shea (Con) Egmont

Accordingly, the Bill was read the third time and passed.

En conséquence, le projet de loi est lu une troisième fois et adopté.

Editor’s Note: Six Atlantic Ridings were not represented in the final vote. Whether this was due to absence or deliberate abstention is not recorded in Hansard.

glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8